India on my mind

Thinking of the weddings that I especially enjoyed working on, I must confess that I find ethnic unions most pleasantly challenging events. After working on a couple of Chinese weddings that have opened my eyes and  taught me a lot about the old and the new, and the way tradition and modernity can be brought together in a ceremony, I have had the pleasure on working on my very first true Indian wedding a couple of weeks ago. And because I did my homework like a good student in the ancient culture of India, Limelight Floral Design managed to put together one of our most ethnic weddings yet. This wedding took place at the Liberty House Restaurant, Jersey City, one of my favourite venues to work with. I would especially like to thank John, our gracious Maitre’d for accommodating our complicated and majestic effort to recreate a temple atmosphere in the modern space that the restaurant is. I would also like to thank Michal Garcia, our wondering photographer who made time to stop in Jersey City while touring the world to take pictures of this wedding. You can see his perception of the event in this entry as well as on his blog: http://michalgarcia.blogspot.com.
The God Ganesh was residing over the festivities. Image by www.michalgarcia.com

The God Ganesh was residing over the festivities. Image by http://www.michalgarcia.com

The couple presents each other with these beautiful lush garlands following the ancient traditions of the Gods. Image by www.michalgarcia.com

The couple presents each other with these beautiful lush garlands following the ancient traditions. Image by http://www.michalgarcia.com

The bride was sitting down during the ceremony. Image by www.michalgarcia.com

The bride resting under the Mandap during the ceremony. Image by http://www.michalgarcia.com

Garden centerpieces were created for the reception hour. Image by www.michalgarcia.com

Garden centerpieces were created for the reception hour. Image by http://www.michalgarcia.com

For more pictures and details about our weddings, visit us at www.limelightfloral.com or shoot us an email at info@limelightfloral.com.

Leave a Reply

